Dawn Watson Memorial Prize

Single Poem

        • Single poem
        • Up to 100 lines
        • First Prize $200, Second Prize $100, Third Prize 1 year WFNB membership

        The 2022-23 Judge: Dr. Sean Wiebe

        Sean Wiebe is a poet and professor at the University of Prince Edward Island with over thirty years of experience in the higher education and K-12 sectors. His books and academic articles cover such topics as creativity, digital literacies, and curriculum. 

        The 2021-2022 judge: Leigh Faulkner

        The 2021-22 Winners:

        First Place: Edyn Clowater, The Story Never Told

        Second Place: Shaun Cunningham, Grid Road, Saskatchewan

        Third Place: Shari Andrews, Her Open Mouth

        Honourable Mention: Shari Andrews, Snow on Evergreen

        Honourable Mention: Frederick Mundle, One Sighting

        Prize Sponsors

        Featured member

        As a past prize recipient in the categories for the Dawn Watson Memorial Prize (2022) and the Alfred G. Bailey Prize , I encourage all members to enter the annual WFNB Literary Contest. Even though I have had the support of mentors and a writing group through the years, the act of putting words on paper is a solitary one. In the end the discipline required has to come from within. To have my work judged by knowledgeable and accomplished peers has given me much encouragement and validation to continue. As well, it is always a pleasure to receive the judge's helpful critique. Wishing you luck and success in this year's competition! --Shari Andrews

        © 2021 Writers' Federation of New Brunswick

        Territorial Acknowledgement

        The Writers’ Federation of New Brunswick acknowledges that the land on which we live, work and gather is the traditional unceded territory of the Wolastoqiyik (Maliseet) and Mi’kmaq Peoples, and we honour the spirit of our ancestors’ Treaties of Peace and Friendship.

        Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software