The Fiddlehead Poetry Book Prize

The Fiddlehead Poetry Book Prize recognizes the best book of poetry published by a New Brunswick resident in a given year. Since 2016 the $500 prize has been sponsored by The Fiddlehead: Atlantic Canada's International Literary Journal. Established in 1945, The Fiddlehead is Canada's oldest literary journal, and it pages have featured a who's who of Canadian Literature.

2019 Awards

Winner: Jennifer Houle
Signature Editions

Other Finalists

Lucas Crawford
Belated Bris of the Brainsick
Nightwood Editions

Mathew Gwathmey
Our Latest in Folktales
Brick Books

2018 Awards

Winner: Jenna Lyn Albert
Bec & Call
Nightwood Editions

Other Finalists

Herménégilde Chiasson
(trans. Jo-Anne Elder)
To Live and Die in Scoudouc
Goose Lane Editions

Kayla Geitzler
That Light Feeling Under Your Feet
NeWest Press

2017 Awards

Winner: Allan Cooper
Everything We Love Comes Back to Find Us
Gaspereau Press

Other Finalists

Wayne Clifford
Flying the Truck
New Brunswick Museum

Kathy Mac
Human Misunderstanding

2016 Awards

Winner: M. Travis Lane
The Witch of the Inner Wood.
Goose Lane Editions

Other Finalists

Wayne Clifford
The Exile's Papers
Porcupine's Quill

Robert Moore
Based on Actual Events
Signal Editions

2015 Awards

Winner: M. Travis Lane

Other Finalists

Phillip Crymble
Not Even Laughter
Salmon Poetry

Michael Pacey
Electric Affinities
Signature Editions


2022 - Weyman Chan

Winner of the 2021 Latner Poetry Prize, and finalist for the 2008 Governor General's Award for his second book of poetry, Noise From the LaundryWeyman Chan divides his time between writing, family, electron micrographs, and non sequitur fluxes in spacetime, brought on by insomnia...Skittles! A member of the poetry collective of fillingStation, he is a settler of Treaty 7 territory in Mohkinstsis (Calgary), Alberta, on the traditional territories of the Blackfoot Confederacy (Siksika, Kainai, Piikani), the Tsuut’ina, the Îyâxe Nakoda Nations, and Métis Nation Region 3. His sixth book of poetry, entitled Witness Back At Me: mis-mothering & transmigration, is forthcoming from Talonbooks in November 2022.

2021 - Isabella Yang

2020 - Yusuf Saadi
2019 - D.A. Lockhart
2018 - Evelyn Lau
2017 - Susan Gillis
2015 - Anita Lahey

© 2021 Writers' Federation of New Brunswick

Territorial Acknowledgement

The Writers’ Federation of New Brunswick acknowledges that the land on which we live, work and gather is the traditional unceded territory of the Wolastoqiyik (Maliseet) and Mi’kmaq Peoples, and we honour the spirit of our ancestors’ Treaties of Peace and Friendship.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software