News from WFNB

Shortlisted Titles Announced for New Brunswick Book Awards

11 Apr 2023 1:21 PM | Executive Director (Administrator)

For Immediate Release

Shortlisted Titles Announced for New Brunswick Book Awards

April 11, 2023 – The Writers' Federation of New Brunswick (WFNB) and The Fiddlehead have announced the shortlisted titles for the 8th annual New Brunswick Book Awards. The winners will be revealed at an awards ceremony on Saturday, June 3, as part of WFNB’s annual WordSpring writing festival in Saint John.

The program will celebrate books published in the 2022 calendar year in the poetry, fiction, nonfiction and children’s picture books categories. The finalists are as follows:

Mrs. Dunster’s Award for Fiction
Leslie Greentree is an Alberta-based artist and is the author of four books. She has won CBC literary competitions for short fiction and poetry, and the Sarah Selecky 2013 Little Bird short fiction competition.

Valerie Sherrard, A Bend in the Breeze (DCB Cormorant), Miramichi

Meghan Rose AllenThe Summer the School Burned Down (Indie-published), Sackville

Lee D. ThompsonApastoral: A Mistopia (Corona/Samizdat), Moncton

Alice Kitts Memorial Award for Excellence in Children’s Writing
JudgeAlma Fullerton is an award-winning PEI author- author/illustrator, whose books have been nominated and/or have won awards including the Governor General Finalist 2008 and many others.

Kelly Cooper, Midnight and Moon (Tundra), Belleisle Creek; illustrated Daniel Miyares

Jennifer McGrathPugs Cause Traffic Jams (Kids Can Press), Hillsborough; illustrated by Kathryn Durst

Masen GrasseTrucks (Monster House Publishing); illustrated by Alexia LePage

The Fiddlehead Poetry Book Prize
Weyman Chan of Calgary has written six books of poetry and was a finalist for the 2008 Governor General's Award for his second book of poetry, Noise From the Laundry.

Amber McMillan, This Is A Stickup, (Wolsak and Wynn), Fredericton

Michael Pacey, Wild Apples: A Dialogue With Thoreau (Pottersfield Press), Fredericton

Sue Sinclair, Almost Beauty: New and Selected Poems (Goose Lane Editions), Fredericton

Writers’ Federation of New Brunswick Nonfiction Award
Judge: Rowan McCandless is an award-winning writer from Winnipeg whose work has appeared in various anthologies and journals. A finalist for the Governor General's Literary Award in nonfiction, Rowan is also a co-winner of the Eileen McTavish Sykes Award for Best First Book (2022). 

James Mullinger, Brit Happens* Or Living the Canadian Dream, (Goose Lane), Rothesay

Mark Anthony Jarman, Touch Anywhere to Begin (Goose Lane) Fredericton

Jon ClaytorTake the Long Way Home (Conundrum Press), Sackville

The New Brunswick Book Awards are open to traditionally published and self-published authors who have lived in the province for three of the last five years, including the award year.

The book awards program represents a partnership between the Writers’ Federation, which for more than 35 years has passionately supported the development of home-grown writers at all stages of development, and The Fiddlehead, Canada’s oldest literary magazine, which has nurtured New Brunswick's literary culture for more than 75 years.

Congratulations to all the nominees!

What else is New at the WFNB?

Upcoming Events

Territorial Acknowledgement

The Writers’ Federation of New Brunswick acknowledges that the land on which we live, work and gather is the traditional unceded territory of the Wolastoqiyik (Maliseet) and Mi’kmaq Peoples, and we honour the spirit of our ancestors’ Treaties of Peace and Friendship. 

"Writers' Federation of New Brunswick" is a registered non-profit organization. New Brunswick, Canada. 

© 2021 Writers' Federation of New Brunswick

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software