• Home
  • News
  • WFNB announces winners of annual writing competition

WFNB announces winners of annual writing competition

7 May 2019 8:50 AM | Executive Director (Administrator)

The Writers’ Federation of New Brunswick announces the winners of its 2019 Writing Competition. A total of $2,600 in cash prizes to be presented at Awards Ceremony in Moncton on May 24, as part of WFNB’s annual WordSpring festival.

The writing awards ceremony is one of several WordSpring events being held throughout the weekend at the Université de Moncton. The festival also offers writing workshops, readings by local and national authors, and book launches by WFNB members.

The Literary Soirée Friday evening features a reception followed by the Award Ceremony where our 2019 Writing Competition Winners will read from their works and accept awards.

Workshops begin Friday, May 26 evening with a session by marketing director and writer, Nathaniel G. Moore, on self-promotion for writers. Saturday workshops include Ann Douglas on understanding book contracts and contract negotiations, Lee Thompson on self-editing for writers, and in the afternoon, three Canadian presses lead a publisher’s panel on manuscript acquisitions and answer questions about how books get accepted for publication. Award-winning poet, Amanda Jernigan, will give an intensive poetry workshop and fantasy writer, Terry Armstrong, will offer a workshop on worldbuilding in fiction. A Blue Pencil Café follows on Sunday morning, where published authors critique work of emerging writers.

The Federation’s action-packed, fun-filled weekend concludes May 26 with open mic readings.

The festival is open to the public, but registration is required for all workshops To register, email info@wfnb.ca. For more information and a complete schedule of events, visit WFNB’s website at www.wfnb.ca.

The following are the competition winners:

Writing Competition Results

David Adams Richards Prize (fiction manuscript)

  • First Place                    Richard Toth (Old Ridge, NB), What is Given, Like Baggage
  • Second Place                John Hanson (Saint John, NB), Drip by Drip
  • Third Place                   Jake Swan (Quispamsis, NB), In the Company of Carnivores

 Alfred G. Bailey Prize (poetry manuscript)

  • First Place                    Karen Davidson (Elgin, NB), Heavenly Blue
  • Second Place                Margo Wheaton (Halifax, NS), Rags of Night in Our Mouths
  • Third Place                   Emily Skov-Neilsen (Fredericton, NB), Meet Me at the Volta

Douglas Kyle Memorial Prize (short fiction)

  • First Place                    Neil Sampson (Durham Bridge, NB), Did I Ever Get My Toast?
  • Second Place                Andrew Wallace (Rothesay, NB), Gripping the Ribs of Its Cage
  • Third Place                   James McClure (Saint John, NB), White Trash Pietà

Dawn Watson Memorial Prize (single poem)

  • First Place                    Richard Toth (Old Ridge, NB), the war’s not over
  • Second Place                Mairi LaFrance (Canterbury, NB), Just in case
  • Third Place                   Bryn Harris (Grand Manan, NB), Oh Sweet Canad

Fog Lit Books for Young People Prize

  • First Place                    Sara Sparks (St. George, NB), Ghost, the Bootlegger’s Horse
  • Second Place                Rachel Friars (Sussex, NB), A Dress of Ashes
  • Third Place                   Jennifer Shelby (Hopewell Hill, NB), Parachutes and Grappling Hooks

PWAC-Southwest New Brunswick Narrative Non-Fiction Prize

  • First Place                    Gwen Martin (Yoho, NB), The Fragility of Bowls
  • Second Place                Trenton Pomeroy (Rothesay, NB), Windows
  • Third Place                   Eve Nash (Moncton, NB), More Than a Name

Sheree Fitch Prize for Young Writers (age 13–18)

  • First Place                    Joshua Merrett (Saint John, NB), The Sea
  • Second Place                Natalie London (Saint John, NB), Happy Endings
  • Third Place                   Patrick MacDonald (Saint John, NB), Hey Charlie

© 2021 Writers' Federation of New Brunswick

Territorial Acknowledgement

The Writers’ Federation of New Brunswick acknowledges that the land on which we live, work and gather is the traditional unceded territory of the Wolastoqiyik (Maliseet) and Mi’kmaq Peoples, and we honour the spirit of our ancestors’ Treaties of Peace and Friendship.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software