News from WFNB

Judges announced for New Brunswick Book Awards

25 Nov 2020 6:39 PM | Executive Director (Administrator)

The Writers’ Federation of New Brunswick and The Fiddlehead have announced the judges for the 6th annual New Brunswick Book Awards. The program will celebrate books published in the 2020 calendar year in the poetry, fiction and nonfiction categories and children’s picture books published in the 2019 and 2020 calendar years.

Submissions will be accepted until December 1, 2020.

The awards and judges are:

Mrs. Dunster’s Award for Fiction – Mark Sampson is the author of several novels, most recent All the Animals on Earth, short story and poetry collections.

Alice Kitts Memorial Award for Excellence in Children’s Writing – Frieda Wishinsky is the author of over 60 trade and educational children’s books including picture books, chapter books, novels, and nonfiction.

The Fiddlehead Poetry Book Prize – Yusuf Saadi is the winner of the The Malahat Review‘s 2016 Far Horizons Award for Poetry and the 2016 Vallum Chapbook Award. His first collection, Pluviophile, was selected for the CBC’s 2020 summer reading list.

Writers’ Federation of New Brunswick Nonfiction Award – Naomi Lewis is a fiction and nonfiction writer, editor, and creative writing teacher. Her 2019 memoir, Tiny Lights for Travellers has won a number of awards, most recently she won Alberta’s Wilfrid Eggleston Award for Nonfiction. and her journalism has been shortlisted for provincial and national magazine awards.

Full bios can be found here:

The New Brunswick Book Awards is open to traditionally published and self-published authors who have lived in the province for three of the last five years, including the award year. For more information on the eligibility criteria and to download the entry form, visit

The book awards program represents a partnership between the Writers’ Federation, which for more than 30 years has passionately supported the development of home-grown writers at all stages of development, and The Fiddlehead, Canada’s oldest literary magazine, which has nurtured New Brunswick’s literary culture for 75 years.


Media Contacts:
Ian LeTourneau
Cell: (506) 440-8072

Rayanne Brennan
Cell: (506) 961-3633

What else is New at the WFNB?

Upcoming Events

Territorial Acknowledgement

The Writers’ Federation of New Brunswick acknowledges that the land on which we live, work and gather is the traditional unceded territory of the Wolastoqiyik (Maliseet) and Mi’kmaq Peoples, and we honour the spirit of our ancestors’ Treaties of Peace and Friendship. 

"Writers' Federation of New Brunswick" is a registered non-profit organization. New Brunswick, Canada. 

© 2021 Writers' Federation of New Brunswick

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software