We’re pleased to provide the photos and bios for our 2920/21 Writing Competition Judges below. WFNB thanks them for the time, energy and dedication they provide in their thoughtful review of our many submissions. We also express our gratitude to each for the rich diversity and creative spirit they contribute to the Canadian literary scene.

David Adams Richards Prize (fiction manuscript)

Judge: Carol Bruneau


Carol Bruneau is the acclaimed author of nine books: three short story collections and six novels, including Brighten the Corner Where You Are, a work of fiction inspired by the life of folk artist Maud Lewispublished in Fall 2020 by Nimbus/Vagrant Press.

Her previous novel, A Circle on the Surface, won the 2019 Jim Connors Dartmouth Book Award for Fictionand her most recent short story collection, A Bird on Every Tree, was a finalist for the Dartmouth Book Award and the 2018 Thomas Raddall Atlantic Fiction Award. Her first novel, Purple for Sky, won both awards in 2001. Re-released for the 100thanniversary of the Halifax Explosion, her novel Glass Voices was a Globe and Mail Best Book for 2007 and has become a book club favourite. Bruneau’s reviews, stories and essays have appeared nation-wide in newspapers, journals and anthologies, and two of her novels have been published internationally.

Over nearly three decades, in addition to her work as an author Bruneau has taught and mentored many new and emerging writers. She has served as Writer in Residence at Dalhousie University and Acadia. She has led workshops and writing classes at the Writers’ Federation of Nova Scotia and various universities, including NSCAD, Dalhousie, Acadia, and St. Francis Xavier, and has served as a mentor in the Alistair MacLeod Mentorship Program at WFNS.

Bruneau is a 2019 recipient of an Arts Nova Scotia Established Artist Recognition Award, and lives and works in Halifax.


Douglas Kyle Memorial Prize (single short fiction)

Judge: Evelyn C White

Evelyn C White is a journalist and author whose books include Chain, Chain, Change: For Black Women in Abusive Relationships (Seal Press, 1985), Every Goodbye Ain’t GoneA Photonarrative of Black Heritage on Salt Spring Island  (Dancing Crow Press, 2009) and the biography Alice Walker: A Life (W. W. Norton & Company, 2004). A former reporter for the San Francisco Chronicle, she lives in Halifax and writes freelance articles for numerous publications in Canada and the U.S. 

Dawn Watson Memorial Prize (single poem

Judge: LM Rochefort

LM Rochefort is a bilingual, award-winning poet/portfolio-careerist, living in Ottawa and Val-des-Monts, QC. She studied Journalism at Carleton U., worked in community mental health programs, communications, the travel industry, translation, research and editing. Her work has appeared in Geist, Arc, Truck, a dozen chapbooks and the 2011 Montreal Poetry Prize Longlist. She has read at Ottawa’s Tree Reading Series, the  Ottawa International Writers’ Festival, and VerseFest Ottawa. For several years now, Lise has been Arc Poetry Magazine’s Associate Poetry Editor. In 2016, her multi-media installation and video-poem Escalator was part of Blink Gallery’s ‘Something Leads to Something Else’ exhibition. She is a founding member of Ottawa’s long-standing ‘Ruby Tuesdays Poetry Collective.’

Fog Lit Books for Young People Prize

Judge: Lisa Harrington

Lisa Harrington dabbled in children’s stories before realizing that it was her teen years that live most vividly in her memory – how it felt, the things that went on, the drama, the angst. Her first book, Rattled, was published in 2010 to critical praise, and her book, Live to Tell, won the Ann Connor Brimer Award for Children’s Literature 2013, the White Pine Award 2014, the Snow Willow Award 2014, and was shortlisted for the Arthur Ellis Award.

Her novel, Twisted, was shortlisted for the Canadian Library Association’s Book of the Year.  Her most recent novels, The Good Bye Girls, and The Big Dig, shortlisted for the Geoffrey Bilson Award for Historical fiction for Young People, focus on the funny and not so funny aspects of family and being a teenager. She is lucky to have two hilarious kids who provide much inspiration for story ideas. She lives in Halifax with her puppy, Hermione, just one street over from her family home. 

Sheree Fitch Prize for Teen Writers

Judge: Joanne Levy

Joanne Levy’s love of books began at a very early age. Being the youngest and the only female among four children, she was often left to her own devices and could frequently be found sitting in a quiet corner with her nose in a book.

Since she left the corporate world in 2013, Joanne spends her non-writing time helping other authors with their administrative needs as a virtual author assistant.

Joanne Levy is the author of several books for tweens, including SMALL MEDIUM AT LARGE, FISH OUT OF WATER, and the upcoming THE SUN WILL COME OUT and SORRY FOR YOUR LOSS. She can usually be found at her computer, either creating spreadsheets (sometimes just for fun) or channeling her younger self into books. She lives in rural Ontario, Canada with her husband and kids of the furred and feathered variety. You can follow Joanne on Instagram or find her on Facebook. In her non-writing and working time (ha!) Joanne enjoys working with wool to make weird and funny felted creatures.

Narrative Nonfiction Prize

Judge: Monica Graham

Monica Graham is a retired journalist, short story writer, and non-fiction author who enjoys researching and writing about historical events, places, people and ideas. She has nine books published, several short stories, plus countless news articles and opinion columns.  A tenth book, Senior Moment, which describes the challenges of finding elder care for her Mom, will be released in early 2021.  She is a member of The Writers’ Union of Canada, the Writers Federation of Nova Scotia and the organizing committee for Read by the Sea Literary Festival . Monica lives in northern Nova Scotia with her husband and a dog. 


Alfred G. Bailey Prize (poetry manuscript)

Judge: Annick MacAskill
Annick MacAskill is the author of No Meeting Without Body (Gaspereau Press, 2018), nominated for the Gerald Lampert Memorial Award and shortlisted for the J.M. Abraham Award, and Murmurations (Gaspereau Press, 2020). Her poetry has appeared in journals and anthologies across Canada and abroad, including The Stinging Fly (Ireland), Versal (the Netherlands), RoomPlenitude, Canthius, Arc Poetry Magazine, The Fiddlehead, and Best Canadian Poetry 2019. She is a member of the Room Magazine editorial collective. She lives in Halifax, Nova Scotia, on the ancestral and unceded territory of the Mi’kmaq People.

Copyright © Dandelion by Pexeto