The WFNB Writing Competition began in 1985, the same year as our date of incorporation. We’ve held it annually ever since, awarding hundreds of prizes over the decades. Many past winners have since achieved national and international publishing fame.

We offer awards in seven categories:

  1. fiction manuscript
  2. short fiction
  3. poetry manuscript
  4. single poem
  5. books for young people
  6. young writers
  7. narrative nonfiction


We will begin accepting entries for our 2018-19 Writing Competition on December 1, 2018 with a postmarked deadline of February 28, 2019.

We are now accepting e-submissions. Visit our Guidelines page for complete details.

Download our competition poster in (jpg) or (pdf) format.

Copyright © Dandelion by Pexeto