2023 NBBA Submissions are now closed

The 2022 NB Book Awards was held on Saturday evening, June 3, 2023, at Lily Lake Pavilion, Saint John (at the entrance to Rockwood Park) and emceed by Julia Wright of CBC. Guest speaker was Susanne Alexander of Goose Lane Editions. Entertainment by Brent Mason. 

The NB Book Awards is administered by the Writers' Federation of New Brunswick. We are currently seeking a sponsors for a fifth category: books for middle grade and young people. If you are interested in facilitating a prize sponsorship or other partnership, please contact us!

2023 Submissions closed

Submissions for our 2023 season are now closed. 

Entry Form

New Brunswick Book Awards
c/o The Writers' Federation of NB
52 Amity Street
Moncton, NB  E1G 0S3

Queries: info@wfnb.ca

Announcing the Judges for the 2023 NB Book Awards

Writers’ Federation of New Brunswick Media Release:

Ninth Annual New Brunswick Book Awards Judges are Announced

The 9th annual New Brunswick Book Awards judges have been selected, and they will review submitted books for the year 2023, and celebrate writing excellence in poetry, fiction, nonfiction and children’s picture books.

The judges for 2023 are as follows:

Mrs. Dunster’s Award for Fiction -

Donna Morrissey

Donna Morrissey has published seven nationally best-selling novels, plus a memoir, Pluck.
 She has received awards in Canada, the U.S. and England and her novel,
Sylvanus Now was shortlisted for the Commonwealth Prize. 
Donna’s fiction has been translated into several different languages.

She was nominated for a Gemini for her script, "The Clothesline Patch", her novel "Sylvanus Now" was shortlisted for the Commonwealth prize, and her last novel, "The Fortunate Brother," spent six weeks on the bestseller list, and won the Arthur Ellis Award for best crime novel of
Donna's latest new novel "Rage The Night" has been three weeks on the National bestseller list. 

Alice Kitts Memorial Award for Excellence in Picture Book Writing - 

Deborah Kerbel

Deborah Kerbel is the author of over 30 books for young people including 23 picture books. Her work has garnered critical recognition from review journals and award nomination committees including the Governor General’s Literary Award, the Elizabeth Mrazik-Cleaver Canadian Picture Book Award, and the CLA’s YA Book Award, among others. Her graphic novel, Fred and Marjorie; a Doctor, a Dog, and the Discovery of Insulin, is an ALA ‘Best Graphic Novel for Children’, a Bankstreet Books ‘Best of the Year’, a Forest of Reading Yellow Cedar Award winner and a Red Cedar Award winner. Born in London, England, Deborah lives in Thornhill, Ontario with her family.

The Fiddlehead Poetry Book Prize – 

Bertrand Bickersteth

Bertrand Bickersteth is the author of The Response of Weeds. His poetry has appeared in numerous publications including GeistThe Walrus, and Grain. He is currently working on a collection of poems on Black cowboys. He lives in Moh’kins’tsis (Calgary) and teaches at Olds College, both in Treaty 7 Territory. 

Writers’ Federation of New Brunswick Nonfiction Award -

Madhur Anand

Madhur Anand's debut book of prose This Red Line Goes Straight to Your Heart won the Governor General's Literary Award for Nonfiction. Her two collections of poetry, A New Index for Predicting Catastrophes and Parasitic Oscillations, were both finalists for the Trillium Book Award for Poetry. She is a full professor of ecology and sustainability at the University of Guelph.

The competition for the ninth annual New Brunswick Book Awards is open. Traditionally published and self-published authors who have lived in the province for three of the last five years, including the award year (2023) are welcome to enter. The deadline for entries is December 1, 2023.

The awards program is administered by the Writers’ Federation of New Brunswick (WFNB), which for more than 30 years has passionately supported the development of home-grown writers at all stages of development.  

The shortlisted nominees will be announced in early April, 2024, and the live awards ceremony will take place in Moncton in early June as part of WFNB’s annual writing festival, WordSpring.

Eligibility Criteria


Books published between January 1 and December 31 of the given prize year. 


The New Brunswick Book Awards are open to traditionally published and self-published authors whose primary residence is in New Brunswick and who have lived there for three of the last five years, including the award year. For example, to be eligible for the 2023 awards, an author needs to be a New Brunswick resident in 2023 and two of the previous four years. 


Fiction (novels or story collections by an author - no anthologies, please), Nonfiction, and Poetry books must meet the criteria of UNESCO's definition of a book: "a non-periodical printed publication of at least 49 pages, exclusive of the cover pages, published in the country and made available to the public." Sorry, we are not accepting ebooks at this time.

Picture Books are defined as books for children that contain illustrations that are just as important as the words in telling the story. Picture books are usually 24-32 pages. 

Self-published books that meet the above criteria are also eligible. If you know someone who has self-published a book, tell them to get in touch with us! There is no entry fee: we just need two copies of the book sent to us before December 1. (For books with a publication date in December, we require galley proofs.)

2022 Shortlist


A few photos from the NB Book Awards, held on June 3, 2023, celebrating books published in 2022.

What else is New?

Upcoming Events

Territorial Acknowledgement

The Writers’ Federation of New Brunswick acknowledges that the land on which we live, work and gather is the traditional unceded territory of the Wolastoqiyik (Maliseet) and Mi’kmaq Peoples, and we honour the spirit of our ancestors’ Treaties of Peace and Friendship. 

"Writers' Federation of New Brunswick" is a registered non-profit organization. New Brunswick, Canada. 

© 2021 Writers' Federation of New Brunswick

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software